In the neighborhood

Well, not my neighborhood exactly – I took these pics in the French Quarter – but it’s still within bicycling distance!  Just a little over a year ago I wrote a post about that Sesame Street song, “These are the people in your neighborhood”, and I told a little story about “the neighborhood” including walking past Archie Manning’s house and seeing him and Peyton tossing a football that day.  You can read it here – and see a photo of the Manning house here.

I’ve been a bit of a homebody and not taking photos the past couple of days, so I looked through my archives and found a few “in the neighborhood” photos from a walk in the French Quarter in December.

“The buskers are people in your neighborhood . . . ”

“in your neighborhood, in your neighborhood. . .”

It doesn’t matter what day of the week or time of day or night you walk through the Quarter, you’re guaranteed to find dozens of street musicians playing any kind of music you might imagine on instruments ranging from drywall buckets to washboards to sousaphones to banjos to accordions, and everything else in between.  Sometimes I fill my pockets with wads of dollar bills so I can pass out a bunch of tips as I stroll down the street and stop to listen.

“And  the window-washer’s a person in the neighborhood,”

I don’t think I’d ever seen this guy before!  He has a serious collection of squeegees, ladders and specialized tools to get the job done right.  I love the blue cart with the French Quarter map!

“They’re the people who you meet when you’re walking down the street; they’re the people who you meet each day!”  (Did you sing along?)

About Carla

I coach people who are ready to stop postponing joy and start living their wild and precious lives. Nature and NOLA retreats, Appalachian Trail courses, personal coaching and more. Learn more at livingwildandprecious.com.
This entry was posted in the city and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to In the neighborhood

  1. rutheh says:

    Your scene is pretty fun and exciting down there! We seem sooooo dull and bland!

  2. Love looking over your shoulder!

  3. foodtable says:

    I wouldn’t have like the first photo as much if the dog wasn’t so intently looking at them and listening. 🙂

  4. As a live music lover, I’m jealous. I’d be rolling around every spare moment just for a smile fix for my ears ~

  5. shellriver says:

    Wow, what fun! There is nothing like that going on in my neighborhood – or even within biking distance! I love street musicians!

  6. Jackie Cangro says:

    In NYC we have our own brand of buskers. Yesterday there was a mariachi band in my subway car.
    I love the dog in the first photo just hanging out enjoying the music too. 🙂

  7. How sweet. I love the people in your neighborhood….looks like fun!

    • Carla says:

      :)! I was just talking to my friend who works in the Quarter – we’re making plans for another lunch date, so I’ll have more fun Quarter pics soon, I’m sure!

  8. eof737 says:

    Great photos and they tell a lovely story about the creativity in your area. 😉

Leave a comment